RECENT BLOG POSTS
Thursday, May 26

Wednesday, May 25

Tuesday, May 24
Trust But Verify

Monday, May 23

Thursday, May 19

Wednesday, May 18

Tuesday, May 17
States Investigate Overpayments, Too

Monday, May 16

Thursday, May 12

Wednesday, May 11
Healthcare Kickbacks In The Fast Lane

Tuesday, May 10

Monday, May 9

Thursday, May 5

Wednesday, May 4

Tuesday, May 3

Monday, May 2

Thursday, April 28

Wednesday, April 27

Tuesday, April 26

Monday, April 25

Thursday, April 21

Wednesday, April 20

Tuesday, April 19

Monday, April 18

A Legal Alternative To Illegal Kickbacks To Physicians

Thursday, April 14
Bamboozled Over The “Cure” For Balance Billing

Wednesday, April 13

Tuesday, April 12

Monday, April 11
Payor Contracting Is A Process, Not An Event

Thursday, April 7

Wednesday, April 6

Tuesday, April 5

Monday, April 4

Thursday, March 31

Wednesday, March 30

Tuesday, March 29

Monday, March 28

Thursday, March 24

Wednesday, March 23

Tuesday, March 22

Monday, March 21

Thursday, March 17

Wednesday, March 16

Tuesday, March 15

Monday, March 14
Opportunities To Invest In Physician-Owned Outpatient Facilities

Thursday, March 10

Wednesday, March 9

Tuesday, March 8

Monday, March 7
 
ADVISORY e-ALERT ARCHIVE
April 29, 2016
Payors Conducting War Against Out of Network Facilities
A Clear Picture Of The Future of Medical Practice
All Things Personal 

March 31, 2016
Federal Government Sets Clock For Return of Medicare Overpayments: Be Late At Your Own Peril
You're Dead. Now what? Succession and Medical Group Governance
All Things Personal

Compounding The Kickback Problem
Climate Change and Hospital-Controlled Medicine
All Things Personal

Sam Walton's Failure Is A Lesson For Medical Groups
Why Let Your Competitors Control Your Future?
All Things Personal

Climate Change and Hospital-Controlled Medicine  
4.5 Things Magic Mountain Taught Me About Your Business.
2016 New Year's Un-Resolutions
Climate Change and Hospital-Controlled Medicine  
4.5 Things Magic Mountain Taught Me About Your Business.
2016 New Year's Un-Resolutions
Climate Change and Hospital-Controlled Medicine  
4.5 Things Magic Mountain Taught Me About Your Business.
2016 New Year's Un-Resolutions
Climate Change and Hospital-Controlled Medicine  
4.5 Things Magic Mountain Taught Me About Your Business.
2016 New Year's Un-Resolutions
Climate Change and Hospital-Controlled Medicine  
4.5 Things Magic Mountain Taught Me About Your Business.
2016 New Year's Un-Resolutions
Climate Change and Hospital-Controlled Medicine  
4.5 Things Magic Mountain Taught Me About Your Business.
2016 New Year's Un-Resolutions
Climate Change and Hospital-Controlled Medicine
4.5 Things Magic Mountain Taught Me About Your Business
2016 New Year's Un-Resolutions
Climate Change and Hospital-Controlled Medicine  
4.5 Things Magic Mountain Taught Me About Your Business.
2016 New Year's Un-Resolutions
Climate Change and Hospital-Controlled Medicine  
4.5 Things Magic Mountain Taught Me About Your Business.
2016 New Year's Un-Resolutions
Climate Change and Hospital-Controlled Medicine  
4.5 Things Magic Mountain Taught Me About Your Business.
2016 New Year's Un-Resolutions
Climate Change and Hospital-Controlled Medicine  
4.5 Things Magic Mountain Taught Me About Your Business.
2016 New Year's Un-Resolutions

Do This Whether You're Grooming For Sale Or Grooming To Grow
Sam Walton's Failure Is A Lesson For Medical Groups
All Things Personal

Are You Ready For the Impact of Telehealth and Telemedicine?
RFP For Physician Services: Really Foolish Proposition 
All Things Personal

September 30, 2015
Hospital Turns $1 Million Of Collections Into $24 Million Of Potential False Claims Act Liability
Healthcare Executives In Prison
All Things Personal

August 31, 2015
Strange Whistleblower Case With Lessons For All
Flying First Class Medical Care
All Things Personal

July 31, 2015
Medical Group Officer Goes To Jail: Kickback Arrangement
Is Your Business Goal To Simply Survive?
All Things Personal

June 30, 2015
OIG Announces Closer Anti-Kickback Scrutiny of Physician Deals
Compounding The Kickback Problem
All Things Personal

May 29, 2015
Have You Made This Mistake Concerning Your Medical Practice?
Understanding Price Value And How To Use Them
All Things Personal

April 30, 2015
Governed or Governed?
Are You Selling Chevys?
All Things Personal

March 31, 2015
For Whom The Whistle Blows
Entrepreneurial Practice vs. Bureaucratic Existence
All Things Personal

February 28, 2015
Medical Monopoly Not A Game: Court Shoots Down Hospital-Medical Group Merger
Flying First Class Medical Care
All Things Personal

January 30, 2015
McDonald’s and Delivering Medical Group Value 
Creating Transformational Contracts  
All Things Personal

December 31, 2014
Dear Healthcare Deal, You Are So Attractive! I Need You!
You’re Dead. Now What? Succession and Medical Group Governance
2015 New Year’s Un-Resolutions

November 28, 2014
How To Increase Your Income
How To Become a Millionaire
All Things Personal

October 31, 2014
Medical Group Mergers: Rushing To The Altar Or Altering The Definition?
An $800 Sneaker And Its Lessons For Your Business
All Things Personal  

September 30, 2014
Why Taking Control Is A Smart Contracting Tactic
Wisdom. Applied. 69: Termination Notice
All Things Personal

August 29, 2014
Bundled Billing Or Bungled Billing?
The Problem With Compensation Surveys – Why Assume That You’re Average?
All Things Personal

July 31, 2014
What's Next? Succession, Sale (or Acquisition), and Strategy
Venezuela, Rice Farmers and Doctors in Dallas
All Things Personal


COMPLIMENTARY BOOK DOWNLOADS
Having fallen for the fallacy that there’s profit in market share, hospitals have gorged on acquisitions and on employment and alignment of physicians. Many physicians have been willing participants through practice sales and in the belief that there’s safety in hospital employment. But it’s becoming evident that physician employment leads to losses and that integrated care delivers neither better care nor lower costs. And now, technology is about to moot many of the reasons for a hospital’s existence. How can your practice survive and even thrive in the post-hospital world?

The Impending Death of Hospitals is available for purchase in hard copy or in Kindle format on Amazon or you can download a complimentary PDF version here.
Today’s medical groups must confront multiple challenges: The impact of Obamacare. Increasing commoditization. More competition, not just from other physicians and medical professionals, but also from hospitals, investor-owned groups, and disruptive ventures. Yet at the same time, the future of healthcare offers medical groups tremendous opportunity.

This small book is a collection of essays, of thoughts as thinking tools for your success. Read. Think. Succeed. Repeat.

Success Or Failure? Strategic Tools For Medical Group Leaders
is available for purchase in hard copy or in Kindle format on Amazon or you can download a complimentary PDF version here.
Some days, it seems as if everyone, from anesthesia groups to vascular surgery practices, is talking about selling their practice to a larger group, to private equity investors, or to a hospital.


The reality is that some practices can be sold, some can never be sold, and some have nothing to sell.

The reality also is that there are a number of strategic alternatives to a practice sale.

 

A perfect storm of factors is accelerating the market for hospital-based medical group mergers and acquisitions.  

 

Hospital-Based Medical Group Mergers, Acquisitions & Alternatives is available for purchase in hard copy or in Kindle format on Amazon or you can download a complimentary PDF version here.

The healthcare market is changing rapidly, bringing new sets of problems.
 
How can you find a solution, how can you engage in the right development of strategy, and how can you to plan your, or your group’s, future without tools to help clarify your thinking?

 

Directions: Clarity For Medical Group Leaders is available for purchase in hard copy or in Kindle format on Amazon or you can download a complimentary PFD version here.

Improving the Health of Healthcare Providers Through Strategic Representation™.


Increase your profit.  Manage your risk. 

We partner with medical groups, entrepreneurial physicians and other healthcare providers, healthcare facilities, pharmaceutical and other medical product companies to achieve transformational results.  

We represent clients with state, national and international interests.

We take an integrative approach to assisting you in achieving your goals.
 
Unfortunately, lawyers sometimes view the world though a microscope – one trained to see the minutia of the “legal” issue and, as a result, ignore virtually everything else.  As a result, they preach a purely “legal solution” that can be worthless in terms of any practical benefit for you.  

We view the world differently:  We operate on the same entrepreneurial level as do you.  We understand that the legal issues involved are intertwined with your business issues and cannot be separated.  We understand that psychological and political issues often transcend the obvious issues.  We understand that advising you involves evaluating the issues, fashioning our advice, and implementing a solution, all on multiple levels.    

We have developed specific, propriety processes to address both physician group, entrepreneurial physician, and healthcare entity representation.  Click here to learn more about the Strategic Group Process™.