Monday, October 12

Department Of The Future

Thursday, October 8

Mermaids And Medical Groups

Wednesday, October 7

Warranty As A Medical Practice Competitive Advantage

Tuesday, October 6

Think About Kickbacks. Then Think Again.

Monday, October 5

Sam Walton’s Failure Is A Lesson For Medical Groups

Thursday, October 1

Tenet Announces Major Joint Venture Expansion Outside of Acute Care Hospitals

Wednesday, September 30

How Not To Make This Governance Mistake

Tuesday, September 29

Stranger Blows The Whistle – Expanded False Claims Danger

Monday, September 28

Why You Have To Build A Bigger Future

Thursday, September 24

Don’t Incentivize For What You Shouldn’t Get

Wednesday, September 23

Jurassic Park And PHI – Leaks Are Inevitable

Tuesday, September 22

What’s The End Game?

Monday, September 21

How Not To Destroy Your Medical Group’s Ability To Compete

Thursday, September 17

How Professional Expertise Can Become An Anchor, Not An Advantage

Wednesday, September 16

Why Your Price Has Nothing To Do With Cost

Tuesday, September 15

Take Your Feet Off The Brakes

Monday, September 14

Bedless Hospitals And Physician Opportunities

Thursday, September 10

How To Prevent Your Medical Group From Getting Robbed Of Its Staff

Wednesday, September 9

Pass The Bread And Get The Contract

Tuesday, September 8

Get More Sure That You’re Insured

Monday, September 7

Bamboozled Over The “Cure” For Balance Billing

Thursday, September 3

Keep On Message

Wednesday, September 2

Do You Know What Costco Pharmacy Doesn’t About The Lifetime Value Of A Customer?

Tuesday, September 1

Start Playing Offense With Your Career

Monday, August 31

Why Not Wanting The Deal Is The Way To Get It (Or, If Not, Who Cares!)

Thursday, August 27

Every Day Is An Opportunity For An RFP Response

Wednesday, August 26

“Physicians, Lower Your Expectations” And Other Manipulation

Tuesday, August 25

Have You Forgotten This Contract Termination Provision?

Monday, August 24

Audit Medical Group and Physician-Owned Facility Deals In Light of Tomorrow (and Today)

Thursday, August 20

Why A 59 Year Old Deli Is a Case Study For Your Medical Practice

Wednesday, August 19

Do You Make This Mistake In Business?

Tuesday, August 18

Control The Document To Control The Deal

Monday, August 17

Hospital Turns $1 Million Of Collections Into $24 Million Of Potential False Claims Act Liability

Thursday, August 13

Same Company. Two Different Experiences. One Big Failure

Wednesday, August 12

Employment Insecurity

Tuesday, August 11

Fined For A Potential HIPAA Violation!

Monday, August 10

Profiting From 3-D Printed Pills

Thursday, August 6

Have You Made This Mistake About Meetings?

Wednesday, August 5
Do You Know This Key To Negotiation?

Tuesday, August 4
Do You Understand The Power Of What You’re Really Selling?
Monday, August 3
Why It’s Done This Way

Thursday, July 30
Three Strategic Lessons For Independent Medical Groups

Wednesday, July 29
How To Use Red Teams To Strengthen Your Business

Tuesday, July 28
Are You Governing Away Your Future?

Monday, July 27
Why You Might Be Aiding The Competition

Thursday, July 23
Dear Healthcare Deal, You Are So Attractive! I Need You!

Wednesday, July 22
What If They Had Begun To Think About The Future When It Was Still In Their Past

Tuesday, July 21
How To Put Your Finger On The Scale Of Patient Satisfaction

Monday, July 20
Obama And The Teachable Moment On Negotiation

September 30, 2015
Hospital Turns $1 Million Of Collections Into $24 Million Of Potential False Claims Act Liability
Healthcare Executives In Prison
All Things Personal

August 31, 2015
Strange Whistleblower Case With Lessons For All
Flying First Class Medical Care
All Things Personal

July 31, 2015
Medical Group Officer Goes To Jail: Kickback Arrangement
Is Your Business Goal To Simply Survive?
All Things Personal

June 30, 2015
OIG Announces Closer Anti-Kickback Scrutiny of Physician Deals
Compounding The Kickback Problem
All Things Personal

May 29, 2015
Have You Made This Mistake Concerning Your Medical Practice?
Understanding Price Value And How To Use Them
All Things Personal

April 30, 2015
Governed or Governed?
Are You Selling Chevys?
All Things Personal

March 31, 2015
For Whom The Whistle Blows
Entrepreneurial Practice vs. Bureaucratic Existence
All Things Personal

February 28, 2015
Medical Monopoly Not A Game: Court Shoots Down Hospital-Medical Group Merger
Flying First Class Medical Care
All Things Personal

January 30, 2015
McDonald’s and Delivering Medical Group Value 
Creating Transformational Contracts  
All Things Personal

December 31, 2014
Dear Healthcare Deal, You Are So Attractive! I Need You!
You’re Dead. Now What? Succession and Medical Group Governance
2015 New Year’s Un-Resolutions

November 28, 2014
How To Increase Your Income
How To Become a Millionaire
All Things Personal

October 31, 2014
Medical Group Mergers: Rushing To The Altar Or Altering The Definition?
An $800 Sneaker And Its Lessons For Your Business
All Things Personal  

September 30, 2014
Why Taking Control Is A Smart Contracting Tactic
Wisdom. Applied. 69: Termination Notice
All Things Personal

August 29, 2014
Bundled Billing Or Bungled Billing?
The Problem With Compensation Surveys – Why Assume That You’re Average?
All Things Personal

July 31, 2014
What's Next? Succession, Sale (or Acquisition), and Strategy
Venezuela, Rice Farmers and Doctors in Dallas
All Things Personal

Today’s medical groups must confront multiple challenges: The impact of Obamacare. Increasing commoditization. More competition, not just from other physicians and medical professionals, but also from hospitals, investor-owned groups, and disruptive ventures. Yet at the same time, the future of healthcare offers medical groups tremendous opportunity.

This small book is a collection of essays, of thoughts as thinking tools for your success. Read. Think. Succeed. Repeat.

Success Or Failure? Strategic Tools For Medical Group Leaders
is available for purchase in hard copy or in Kindle format on Amazon or you can download a complimentary PDF version here.
Some days, it seems as if everyone, from anesthesia groups to vascular surgery practices, is talking about selling their practice to a larger group, to private equity investors, or to a hospital.

The reality is that some practices can be sold, some can never be sold, and some have nothing to sell.

The reality also is that there are a number of strategic alternatives to a practice sale.


A perfect storm of factors is accelerating the market for hospital-based medical group mergers and acquisitions.  


Mergers is available for purchase in hard copy or in Kindle format on Amazon or you can download a complimentary PDF version here.

The healthcare market is changing rapidly, bringing new sets of problems.
How can you find a solution, how can you engage in the right development of strategy, and how can you to plan your, or your group’s, future without tools to help clarify your thinking?


Directions is available for purchase in hard copy or in Kindle format on Amazon or you can download a complimentary PFD version here.

Improving the Health of Healthcare Providers Through Strategic Representation™.

Increase your profit.  Manage your risk. 

We partner with medical groups, entrepreneurial physicians and other healthcare providers, healthcare facilities, pharmaceutical and other medical product companies to achieve transformational results.  

We represent clients with state, national and international interests.

We take an integrative approach to assisting you in achieving your goals.
Unfortunately, lawyers sometimes view the world though a microscope – one trained to see the minutia of the “legal” issue and, as a result, ignore virtually everything else.  As a result, they preach a purely “legal solution” that can be worthless in terms of any practical benefit for you.  

We view the world differently:  We operate on the same entrepreneurial level as do you.  We understand that the legal issues involved are intertwined with your business issues and cannot be separated.  We understand that psychological and political issues often transcend the obvious issues.  We understand that advising you involves evaluating the issues, fashioning our advice, and implementing a solution, all on multiple levels.    

We have developed specific, propriety processes to address both physician group, entrepreneurial physician, and healthcare entity representation.  Click here to learn more about the Strategic Group Process™.

Sign up to start receiving the Advisory e-Alert and other educational material.